The One About Deep Magic

Those that know me know that The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe is one of my favorite books of all time. Every year, during Christmastime, I make sure that I read it. It’s been a tradition of mine that I started when I got the book for Christmas one year, and this year was the seventh consecutive year that I’ve read it. To avoid having to type out the lengthy title, I’ll simply refer to the book as Narnia from now on.

Narnia is a children’s book, and is one of seven novels that collectively make up The Chronicles of Narnia. One of the most beautiful things about the book is that although it’s a children’s book, it seems as though every time I read it, I get something new from it, realize something I hadn’t realized before, or even see parallels between the novel and the Bible itself. I simply want to write about some of my favorite quotes from the novel, without getting into too much detail about the plot and characters and such.

Keeping with the theme of the Christmas season, all of these quotes are about Aslan the Lion, who is the rightful King of Narnia, and whose character is based on Christ.

  • “Aslan is a lion- the Lion, the great Lion.” “Ooh” said Susan. “I’d thought he was a man. Is he-quite safe? I shall feel rather nervous about meeting a lion”…”Safe?” said Mr Beaver …”Who said anything about safe? ‘Course he isn’t safe. But he’s good. He’s the King, I tell you.”                        
  • “He’ll be coming and going” he had said. “One day you’ll see him and another you won’t. He doesn’t like being tied down–and of course he has other countries to attend to. It’s quite all right. He’ll often drop in. Only you mustn’t press him. He’s wild, you know. Not like a tame lion.”
  • “Wrong will be right, when Aslan comes in sight,
    At the sound of his roar, sorrows will be no more,
    When he bares his teeth, winter meets its death,
    And when he shakes his mane, we shall have spring again.”

In one of my favorite scenes in the novel, one of the children (Edmund) is deceived by the Witch into tricking his siblings. The Witch meets Aslan face-to-face and cites the Deep Magic, which is the law of Narnia. She cites a passage in it saying that the blood of a traitor belongs to her, that Edmund’s blood must be spilt as penance for his treachery. Through the course of the novel, Aslan lays down his life in place of Edmund’s, and explains to Edmund’s sisters, Lucy and Susan, why Aslan did what he did:

 “But what does it all mean?” asked Susan when they were somewhat calmer.
“It means,” said Aslan, “that though the Witch knew the Deep Magic, there is a magic deeper still which she did not know. Her knowledge goes back only to the dawn of Time.
 But if she could have looked a little further back, into the stillness and the darkness before Time dawned, she would have read there a different incantation. She would have known that when a willing victim who had committed no treachery was killed in a traitor’s stead, the Table would crack and Death itself would start working backwards.”

The imagery of the novel, the lovable characters, and the parallels of the novel and scripture make this one of my favorite scenes in the entire story. This reminds me of when Satan tried to tempt Jesus by quoting scripture, and how Jesus countered Satan’s temptations with scripture in return.

The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe will always have a special place in my heart as one of my favorite reads. I grew up reading it, and I hope to continue reading it every Christmas to my own children one day.

This Christmas, I pray over each of you abundant blessings, rest, peace, and joy. For many of us, this is a season of joy and fun, but for those who grieve during this time due to reminders of lost loved ones or other reasons, I pray comfort to your hearts and peace to your minds. 

Merry Christmas, everyone. Let’s adore Him together this season.

Jonathan.

 

 

Leave a Reply

